World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


A Composer's Insight, Volume 5

Thoughts, Analysis and Commentary on Contemporary Masterpieces for Wind Band

Be the first! Write a Review

Thoughts, Analysis and Commentary on Contemporary Masterpieces for Wind Band. Edited by Timothy Salzman. Meredith Music Resource. Woodwind Reference. Softcover. 226 pages. Published by Meredith Music (HL.317228).

Item Number: HL.317228

ISBN 1574631209. 8.5x11 inches.

This text is the fifth in a five-volume series on major contemporary composers and their works for wind band. Included in this volume are rare, 'behind-the-notes' perspectives acquired from personal interviews with composers William Bolcom, Andrew Boysen, Jr., Steven Bryant, David Dzubay, Chen Qian, Adam Gorb, Jennifer Higdon, John Mackey, Jonathan Newman, Carter Pann, Christopher Rouse, and Rolf Rudin. An excellent resource for conductor, composer or enthusiast interested in acquiring a richer musical understanding of the composers' training, compositional approach, musical influences, and interpretative ideas.

  • WILLIAM BOLCOM by George Loomis 
  • ANDREW BOYSEN, JR. by Kirsten G. Morton Cummings 
  • STEVEN BRYANT by Erin Bodnar 
  • CHEN QIAN by Gary Brattin 
  • DAVID DZUBAY by Eric M. Smedley 
  • ADAM GORB by Evan Feldman 
  • JENNIFER HIGDON by Marian Stewart 
  • JOHN MACKEY by Eric M. Smedley 
  • JONATHAN NEWMAN by Christopher Koch 
  • CARTER PANN by Vu Nguyen 
  • CHRISTOPHER ROUSE by Catherine Rand 
  • ROLF RUDIN by Gary Brattin 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.