Youri Egorov - The 1980 Ambassador Auditorium Recital
Sheet Music

Item Number: 20253568
4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.


By Youri Egorov. By Claude Debussy, Franz Liszt, Frederic Chopin, Robert Schumann, and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Classical. Listening CD. Published by Naxos (NX.FHR44).

Recording published for the first time. Brilliant, exquisite performances from the master pianist. Russian born pianist Youri Egorov first came to international prominence as the clear favorite among the 1977 Van Cliburn Competition's semi-finalists. When Egorov failed to make the finals, outraged audience members raised funds to match the $10,000 first prize and present their hero in his New York recital debut. The critics raved, and Egorov's career took off, flourishing for 10 years until his tragically early death in 1988. Egorov has drawn parallels with that of pianist Dinu Lipatti. Additionally, both men gave their final concert performances at the age of 33, each knowing at the time that he was afflicted with a fatal illness and had but months to live. Indeed Egorov cited Lipatti as the predecessor he most admired. 1978 was the year in which Egorov's career took flight. After his January debut in New York the critics compared him to Horowitz, Richter and Rachmaninov.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • 01. Fantasie in C minor, K475
  • 02-04. Fantasy in C major, Op. 17
  • 05-16. 12 Etudes, Op. 25
  • 17. Images, Book 1: No. 1. Reflets dans l'eau
  • 18. 12 Grandes etudes de Paganini, S141: No. 3 in G sharp minor, ‘La Campanella'