Die deutsche Liturgie
by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
Score - Sheet Music

Item Number: 548570
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Musical Forms

SKU: CA.4012800

Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn. Edited by Judith Silber Ballan. This edition: urtext. Stuttgart Urtext Edition: Mendelssohn. German title: Die Deutsche Liturgie (10). Sacred, Mass Sections, Motets; Stuttgart Urtext editions. Full score. Composed 1846. 40 pages. Carus Verlag #CV 40.128/00. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.4012800).

ISBN 9790007089511.

Mendelssohn composed the "Deutsche Liturgie" for church services in Berlin Cathedral using the new Agende, the order of worship for Prussia. This satisfied demands at the time to return to a simpler style of church music. At the same time it demonstrated Mendelssohn's gift in counteracting the often dry style of the Cecilian movement by using a fine inner structure within the short movements. The first six measures of the Gloria, which are not by Mendelssohn, are not printed in this volume, but can be found in the single edition (CV 40.128/20). The choral score includes all of Mendelssohn's settings. The longer numbers (no. 3, 4 and 10) are also available in separate editions, and in addition there is a separate edition for nos. 1, 2, 5 to 9.

  • Ehre sei Gott in der Hohe. Gloria (Glory to god in the highest)
  • Kyrie in A (Kyrie in A major)
  • Und mit deinem Geiste (And with thy spirit!) - D-Dur/D major
  • Vier Amen-Vertonungen - A-Dur/A major
  • Alleluja - A-Dur/A major
  • Ehre sei dem Vater und dem Sohn (Glory to the father and the Son) - E-Dur/E major
  • Heilig, heilig, heilig (Holy is God, the Lord Sabaoth!) - D-Dur/D major