World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Understanding Chord Progressions

By Fred Sokolow

Be the first! Write a Review

Guitar (all) - Beginning-Intermediate
Composed by Fred Sokolow. Boxed, Theory & Harmony. Grossman Guitar Workshop. All Styles. DVD. Duration 109 minutes. Published by Grossman's Guitar Workshop (MB.GW413).

Item Number: MB.GW413

5.25 x 7.5 inches.

When you know how chord progressions work, it's much easier to learn new songs. And when you understand a song's chord structure, you're not just memorizing letter names; in fact, you can play the tune in any key. Learning how songs are put together also develops your musical ear and enhances your appreciation of music in general.

In this lesson, Fred draws from several musical genres (rock, blues, jazz, pop and country) to illustrate many standard types of chord movement and song structures. You'll learn about chord families, the twelve bar blues, circle-of-fifths changes, diatonic chord movement and more. Along the way you'll learn how to play and comprehend the progressions of many classic tunes, including All of Me, Every Day I Have the Blues, Blue Skies, Your Cheatin' Heart, Blue Moon, Mister Sandman, Honeysuckle Rose, Like a Rolling Stone, Ain't Misbehavin', I Got Rhythm and more.

Fred explains everything in terms of the guitar fretboard, so you'll not only learn to play these songs, you'll learn how to use your guitar to understand music theory. A detailed tab/music instructional booklet is included as a PDF file on the DVD.

BONUS TRACKS: Fred talks about his Songbook Series.

  • All Of Me 
  • Every Day I Have The Blues 
  • Blue Skies 
  • Your Cheatin' Heart 
  • Blue Moon 
  • Mister Sandman 
  • Honeysuckle Rose 
  • Like A Rolling Stone 
  • Ain't Misbehavin' 
  • I Got Rhythm 
Close X

I am a music teacher.