• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


The Oxford Book of Italian Madrigals

The Oxford Book of Italian Madrigals composed by Harman. Edited by Eric Harman. For SATB choir, a cappella. Mixed Voices. Secular, Choral Collection. Vocal score. 336 pages. Published by Oxford University Press (OU.9780193436473).

ISBN 9780193436473. Secular, Choral Collection. 9 x 6 inches.

During the eighty years from approx. 1535 many thousands of Italian madrigals were composed. Here are 55 for mixed voices covering the whole range of types, and the whole period. All have been chosen for their musical value - they are small masterpieces.

  • Dormendo un Giorno  Performed by Jacques (Jacob) Arcadelt
  • Il Bianco E Dolce Cigno  Performed by Jacques (Jacob) Arcadelt
  • Quando Sara Miai Quel Zonorno  Performed by Bel'haver
  • Mentre il Cuculo il suo Cucu Cantava  Performed by Caimo
  • Quest'io Tesseva e Quelle  Performed by Francesco Corteccia
  • Tutte le Vecchie Son Maleciose  Performed by Di Maio
  • Io Mi Son Giovinetta  Performed by Alfonso Ferrabosco
  • Cosi Soav'e l Foco  Performed by Festa
  • Ingiustissimo Amor 
  • Due Rose Fresche  Performed by Gabrieli
  • I'vo Piangendo  Performed by Gabrieli
  • Tirsi Morir Volea  Performed by Gabrieli
  • Il Bel'Umore - Viver Lieto Voglio  Performed by Giovanni Giacomo Gastoldi
  • Il Premiato - Ove ne Vai Si in Fretta  Performed by Giovanni Giacomo Gastoldi
  • Languisco e Moro  Performed by Don Carlo Gesualdo
  • Luci Serene e Chiare  Performed by Don Carlo Gesualdo
  • Resta di Darmi Noia  Performed by Don Carlo Gesualdo
  • Cantai, or Piango  Performed by Don Carlo Gesualdo
  • Mia Benigna Fortuna S'io Esca Vivo  Performed by Orlande De Lassus
  • Itene Mie Querele  Performed by Luzzasco Luzzaschi
  • Che fa Oggi il Mio Sole  Performed by Luca Marenzio
  • Cruda Amarilli  Performed by Luca Marenzio
  • Fuggiro Tant', Amore  Performed by Luca Marenzio
  • Gia Torna a Rallegrar L'Aria  Performed by Luca Marenzio
  • Solo e Pensoso  Performed by Luca Marenzio
  • Ahi, Chi Mi Rompe il Sonno  Performed by Monte
  • Fa Ch'io Riveggia  Performed by Monte
  • Leggiadre Ninfe  Performed by Monte
  • ah Dolente Partita  Performed by Claudio Monteverdi
  • Ecco Mormorar L'onde  Performed by Claudio Monteverdi
  • Quel Augellin Che Canta  Performed by Claudio Monteverdi
  • Si Ch'io Vorrei Morire  Performed by Claudio Monteverdi
  • Chi la Gagliarda, Donna, Vo Imparare  Performed by Nola
  • Io Son Ferito, Ahi Lasso  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • La Ver l'Aurora  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • VestivMa i Colli  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • Ancor Che Col Partire  Performed by Rore
  • Il'alto Signor  Performed by Rore
  • Mia Benigna Fortuna  Performed by Rore
  • Ne l'Aria in Questi di  Performed by Rore
  • O Morte, Eterno Fin  Performed by Rore
  • O Sonno  Performed by Rore
  • Quest'Affannato Mio Doglioso Core  Performed by Rore
  • Strane Rupi  Performed by Rore
  • S'Udia un Pastor l'Altr'Hieri  Performed by Orazio Vecchi
  • Dorment' un Giorno  Performed by Verdelot
  • Italia Mia  Performed by Verdelot
  • Chi Salira per Me  Performed by Wert
  • Forsennata Gridava  Performed by Wert
  • Augelli  Performed by Vezzosi
  • Amor mi fa Morire  Performed by Adrian Willaert
  • Quanto Piu M'arde  Performed by Adrian Willaert

Buy Together




Buy both for $46.49

AddtoCart Print

The Oxford Book of Italian Madrigals

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

The Oxford Book of Italian Madrigals

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List