• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


The Copland Piano Collection

13 Piano Pieces. Composed by Aaron Copland (1900-1990). BH Piano. Softcover. 96 pages. Boosey & Hawkes #M051246366. Published by Boosey & Hawkes (HL.48019408).

Item Number: HL.48019408
ISBN 1423424441. 9x12 inches.

A broad selection of piano works by Aaron Copland, conveniently published in a single volume. Contents: The Cat and the Mouse • Down a Country Lane • Four Piano Blues • In Evening Air • Midsummer Nocturne • Night Thoughts • Passacaglia • Petit Portrait • Piano Sonata • Piano Variations • Three Moods • Midday Thoughts • Proclamation for Piano.

  • Down A Country Lane 
  • Midsummer Nocturne 
  • Four Piano Blues 
  • In Evening Air 
  • The Cat and the Mouse 
  • Piano Variations 
  • Passacaglia 
  • Night Thoughts 
  • Piano Sonata 
  • Midday Thoughts 
  • Three Moods 
  • Petit Portrait 
  • Proclamation 

The Copland Piano Collection

13 Piano Pieces

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

The Copland Piano Collection

13 Piano Pieces

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 5

    Norman, Oklahoma
    Difficulty Level:
  • March 09, 2012 The Copland Piano Collection

    The 13 piano pieces in this edition represent the broad range of Copland's compositional character. "Piano Variations" has special effects, such as silently depressing the keys, in addition to multi-staff reading, complex rhythms, and thick textures. The "Piano Sonata" recalls Copland's Americana sound with shifting meters and...

    unison playing that is associated with such masterpieces as Appalachian Spring. Copland's affinity for jazz comes through in "Four Piano Blues," which features jazz chord voicings combined with syncopation and swing rhythms. Also included are the well-known "The Cat and the Mouse" and "Passacaglia," each encompassing the entire keyboard. More notable are the lesser known short, lyrical works, such as "Down a Country Lane," commissioned by Life magazine. It features exquisite melodic writing for both hands and delicate blocked intervals; it is a wonderful introduction to Copland for late-intermediate students.

    Read More
    21 of 34 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No