• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


The Contemporary Guitar: An Anthology of New Music

By Stanley Yates

Be the first! Write a Review


The Contemporary Guitar: An Anthology of New Music composed by Stanley Yates. For Guitar (Classical). Squareback saddle-stitched, Solos. Stanley Yates Guitar. Classic. Intermediate-Advanced. Book. 104 pages. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.99527).

ISBN 9780786608409. Classic. 9 x 11.75 inches.

This collection of new music, written by composers who are or who have been performing guitarists themselves, presents intermediate to advanced concert works that explore the musical and technical diversity of the contemporary guitar. Each composer offers a unique musical and technical perspective of what the contemporary guitar is. The harmonic language ranges from jazz to atonality, the styles vary from blues to minimalism, and the cultural influences span from Eastern European to Celtic. The composers include Delpriora, Gilardino, Hudson, Johanson, Kenyon, Marron, Mearns, Ourkouzounov, Piorkowsky, and Van der Veen. The music is standard notation only.

  • Etude no. 5 from Twelve Etudes  Performed by Mark Delpriora
  • Tambú (fantasy for guitar)  Performed by Mark Delpriora
  • Winterzeit (after Robert Schumann)  Performed by Angelo Gilardino
  • Blues Suite (1. Walking, 2. Mystery, 3. Delta)  Performed by Roger Hudson
  • Variations on a Finnish Folk Song  Performed by Bryan Johanson
  • Caer Meini  Performed by Stephen Kenyon
  • Winter Scenes  Performed by James Marron
  • The Slope  Performed by James Marron
  • Tolkien Gesture (characters and scenes from "The Lord of the Rings")  Performed by Alan Mearns
  • Ostinatoccata  Performed by Atanas Ourkouzounov
  • Uraca  Performed by James Piorkowski
  • Hora  Performed by Derk Van Der Veen

Buy Together




Buy both for $31.28

AddtoCart Print

The Contemporary Guitar: An Anthology of New Music

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

The Contemporary Guitar: An Anthology of New Music

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List