• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


The Baroque Guitar in Spain and The New World

By Frank Koonce

Customer Rating:   1 Review Write a Review


The Baroque Guitar in Spain and The New World composed by Frank Koonce. For Guitar (Classical). Wire bound, Solos. Frank Koonce Series. Baroque. Intermediate. Book. 176 pages. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.21122).

ISBN 9780786675258. Baroque. 8.75 x 11.75 inches.

A substantial amount of early music for the guitar remains unknown to modern performers and audiences. In recent years, however, musicologists, scholars and performers on period instruments have provided a wealth of accessible new source materials which players can now begin to interpret in convincing and effective ways. Nevertheless, many still feel intimidated by the prospect of sorting through and learning to use these resources for the first time. For the uninitiated, just knowing where to start can be difficult.

This anthology contains representative selections from the publications and manuscripts of four important Spanish Baroque guitarists: Gaspar Sanz, Antonio de Santa Cruz, Francisco Guerau, and Santiago de Murcia. In addition to being fun and entertaining music for all to enjoy, this collection is intended to help bridge the gap between scholarly editions and performance editions by providing a hands-on introduction to tablature transcription and to issues concerning historically informed performance on the modern guitar.

  • Canario  Performed by Antonio De Santa Cruz
  • Canarios   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Cumbees   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Espanoletas   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Fandango  Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Folias  Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Jacaras   Performed by Antonio De Santa Cruz
  • La cavalleria de Napoles con dos clarines   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • La Esfachata de Napoles   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • La Guastala   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • La Minona de Cataluna  Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Las Hachas   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Marionas   Performed by Francisco Guerau
  • Matachin   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Menuet(s)   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Paradetas   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Passacalles   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Passacalles in B minor   Performed by Francisco Guerau
  • Passacalles in G minor   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Pavanas   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Preludio in D minor   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Rujero  Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Suite In D Minor  Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Suite in G Major  Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Villano  Performed by Antonio De Santa Cruz
  • Villanos   Performed by Gaspar Sanz
  • Zangarilleja   Performed by Santiago De Murcia
  • Zarabanda  Performed by Gaspar Sanz

The Baroque Guitar in Spain and The New World

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

The Baroque Guitar in Spain and The New World

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • December 21, 2009 Great introduciton to baroque guitar

    This book is a very good introduction to the repertoire of the baroque guitar. Koonce supplies a great deal of interesting and helpful information about performance practice and the history surrounding the pieces and composers. I also really like Koonce's selection of pieces.

    18 of 38 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No