World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sonatas 8 - Piano

By Padre Antonio Soler

Piano - Difficulty: medium
Composed by Padre Antonio Soler (1729-1783). Schott. Baroque. Collection. With standard notation (does not include words to the songs). 40 pages. Schott Music #ED9183. Published by Schott Music (HL.49008330).

Item Number: HL.49008330

With standard notation (does not include words to the songs). Baroque. 9x12 inches.

The fame of the Spanish composer and theorist Padre Antonio Soler has long been eclipsed by that of Domenico Scarlatti. These Sonatas, based on a printed copy published in London c. 1795, demonstrate clearly that Soler, while inspired by elements of Scarlatti's music, developed a musical language all his own.

  • Sonata No. 1  F Major
  • Sonata No. 2  A Minor
  • Sonata No. 3  C Minor
  • Sonata No. 4  C# Minor
  • Sonata No. 5  D Minor
  • Sonata No. 6  F Major
  • Sonata No. 7  E Minor
  • Sonata No. 8  E Minor
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Melody T. Horner
    Culver City, near Los Angeles, California
    Difficulty Level:
  • April 09, 2007 A Soler Sampler

    This noteworthy book opens with a Preface, outlining Antonio Soler's life and works. Then pieces I through VIII follow: (I): A simple piece in a Spanish mood, created with just a few notes. II: This composition features crossed hands at intervals; however, one could edit in easier notes. This...

    piece needs a keyboard with more than 3 and l/2 octaves (which my Italian harpsichord holds). III: This Cantabile is a beautiful Spanish song, and it is easy to play with lots of expression. IV: This piece needs more skill to play than do the first three compositions. V: A beautiful piece, requiring the top e and f notes, two octaves above middle-C. VI: This is a wonderful Allegro with flowing harmonies. VII: Andantino in G Major is Spanish and lyrical, and I shall perform it in a solo concert. VIII: This Advanced Intermediate Allegro is intensely satisfying if you have the upper e and d# notes on the keyboard. I would highly recommend this publication. Melody T. Horner

    Read More
    23 of 43 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No