• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Short Pieces for Piano

Piano (Piano) - SMP Level 6 (Late Intermediate)
Piano Solo. Composed by Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987). Piano Collection. 152 pages. G. Schirmer #LB2036. Published by G. Schirmer (HL.50483240).

Item Number: HL.50483240
ISBN 0793589290. 9x12 inches.

This newly compiled assortment from the brilliant Russian composer-pianist includes: 30 Pieces for Children, Op. 27 * From Pioneer Life, Op. 14 * 4 Rondos, Op. 60 * 6 Preludes & Fugues, Op. 61 * Children's Dreams, Op. 88 * and the famous Comedians' Gallop.

This title has selections that range in difficulty from SMP Level 4-6.

  • Waltz Time Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Ditty Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Etude Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • At Night On the River Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Playing Ball Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Sad Story Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Old Dance Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Cradle Song Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Little Fable Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Clowning Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Rondo Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Toccatina Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Scherzo Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • March Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Lyric Piece Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Meadow Dance Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Sonatina Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • War Dance Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Fairy Tale Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Snow Storm Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Etude Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Novelette Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Etude (Kabalevsky) 
  • Dance Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Caprice Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Songs of the Cavalry Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Dramatic Episode Op 27 (Kabalevsky) 
  • In the Pioneer Camp (in the Morning) Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Morning Exercises Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • On the River Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Through Forests and Mountains Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Extraordinary Event Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • By the Campfire Op 3/86 (Kabalevsky) 
  • From Pioneer Life (Drummer) Op 14 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Sporting Game Op 14 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Holiday Op 14 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Pioneer Song Op 14 (Kabalevsky) 
  • March Op 14 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Rondo-March (Four Rondos) Op 60 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Rondo-Dance Op 60 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Rondo-Song Op 60 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Rondo-Toccata Op 60 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Six Preludes and Fugues Op 61 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Dreams Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Who Will Win the Argument? Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Tale of an Old Organ-Grinder Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Contrasts Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Curious Waltz Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Children's Dream/Naughty Boys Op 88 (Kabalevsky) 
  • Comedian's Gallop (Kabalevsky) 
Look Short Pieces for Piano

Short Pieces for Piano

Piano Solo

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Short Pieces for Piano

Piano Solo

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review

    Based on 2 Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • December 08, 2008 For Children or Beginners

    Not representative of Kabalevsky as a composer, as it was written as an educational resource for children. A good introduction to the piano.

    31 of 60 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 4

    Hongseong, Chungnam, South Korea
  • May 07, 2005 not exactly history's greatest composer

    The melodies in this volume abound in four-measure squares. Moreover, the preludes aren't exactly preludes, the fugues aren't exactly fugues, and the rondos aren't exactly rondos. There is one composition entitled "Sonatina" which shows neither hide nor hair of the sonata form. All the same, the...

    pieces are fun to sightread.

    Read More
    24 of 53 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No