World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


SAINT-SAENS: Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso for Violin & Orchestra; MOZART: Serenade No. 5, KV204; Adagio, KV261

By Camille Saint-Saens

Composed by Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921) and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Instrumental Solo Part and CD. Published by Music Minus One (MO.MMOCD3116).

Item Number: MO.MMOCD3116

ISBN 1596151455. Soloist: Geoffrey Applegate, violin; Ensemble: Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra; Conductor: Emil Kahn.

Written about 1863, the Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso is a great show-stopper for violin and orchestra. Filled with typical Saint-Saens qualities, it is enchanting music. Mozart's 5th of 13 serenades is a lovely piece. It is Mozart at his best. This beautiful adagio was originally intended for the Violin Concerto No. 5, but Mozart substituted another for it before the concerto was premiered. It is a beautiful single-movement concerted work as it stands, well worth the effort to learn it.

Contains a printed solo part and a compact disc featuring both concerti in split-channel stereo with the violinist on the right channel; then again in a stereo accompaniment version minus the solo violin part.

  • Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, op. 28  Performed by Camille Saint-Saens
  • Serenade No. 5 in D major, KV204 (KV213a)  Performed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Adagio in E major, KV261  Performed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
  • September 11, 2008 Pretty good

    Good, but tempo could be faster.

    16 of 30 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No