• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Rodney Jones: Live at Smoke

By Rodney Jones

Be the first! Write a Review


Guitar (All)
Composed by Rodney Jones. Boxed, Concert/Documentary. Mel Bay Records. Jazz. DVD. Duration 145 minutes. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.21231DVD).

Item Number: MB.21231DVD

Filmed at the New York jazz club Smoke, Rodney Jones enlightens us with his flavorful originals like "Groove Bone" and "One Turnip Green," while he indulges us with the classics such as "Stella by Starlight," and "Morning of the Carnival."

For Live at Smoke, his first DVD as a leader, Rodney Jones selected material from every stage of his career, including tunes he had not previously recorded.

The result is an exquisite juxtaposition of traditional and progressive works, including sultry ballads, floor-pounding grooves, and everything in between.

A gifted solo artist and an A-list sideman for Dizzy Gillespie, James Brown, Lena Horne and other top performers, Rodney is also a dedicated educator, serving on the faculty of the Manhattan School of Music since 1988.

Featuring: Brian Charette on organ, Lonnie Plaxico on bass and Ray Marchica on drums.

  • Blues for Smoke   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Day Dreams  Performed by Rodney Jones
  • For Love Alone   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Groove Bone   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Island Wind   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Miss B's Blues   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Mobius Three   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Morning of the Carnival   Performed by L. Bonfa And Antonio Carlos Jobim
  • One Turnip Green   Performed by Rodney Green
  • Round Midnight  Performed by Theolonius Monk, Cootie Williams And Bernie Hanighen
  • Serena  Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Soul Makossa   Performed by Odilien Dibango
  • Soul Manifesto   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Soup Bone   Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Stella By Starlight  Performed by Ned Washington
  • The Journey Home  Performed by Rodney Jones
  • Undiscovered Few   Performed by Rodney Jones

Buy Together




16% off
We recommend purchasing
Rodney Jones: Live at Smoke
Guitar Pro 6

Buy both for $74.71

AddtoCart Print
Look Rodney Jones: Live at Smoke

Rodney Jones: Live at Smoke

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Rodney Jones: Live at Smoke

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List