World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Concerto in C-sharp minor, Op. 30; ARENSKY: Fantasia on Russian Folksongs, Op. 48 (2 CD set)

By Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov

Composed by Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908). Instrumental Solo Part and 2 CDs. Published by Music Minus One (MO.MMOCD3086).

Item Number: MO.MMOCD3086

ISBN 1596150807. Soloist: Victor Chuchkov, piano; Ensemble: Plovdiv Philharmonic Orchestra; Conductor: Nayden Todorov.

A good choice for students due to its thoughtfully-written solo part and its short length, Rimsky-Korsakov's piano concerto is a Lisztian set of variations on a Russian folk theme, masterfully orchestrated and full of rich pianism in the best Russian Late Romantic tradition. Its companion in this release is Russian master Anton Arensky's exciting Fantasia on Russian Folksongs, sounding for all the world like a latter-day movie score, with bravura piano solo integrated. Affords the soloist an opportunity to play an exhilarating piece with a thrilling Russian feel, and at the same time of a manageable length. This little-known piece is highly recommended. This deluxe 2CD set includes a slow-tempo practice version to help you get up to speed.

Includes a printed solo part (with orchestral reduction) on high-quality ivory paper; a digital stereo compact disc featuring a complete performance of the concerto with orchestra and soloist, and a second performance minus you, the soloist; and a second compact disc containing a full-speed version of the complete version as well as a special -20% slow-tempo version of the accompaniment for practice purposes. Each concerto is voluminously indexed for your practice and performance convenience.

  • Piano Concerto in C-sharp minor, op. 30  Performed by Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  • Fantasia on Russian Folk Songs (Themes of A. Riabinin), op. 48  Performed by Anton Stepanovich Arensky
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 3

    Difficulty Level:
  • March 30, 2008 Great work, recording is so-so

    A great piano concerto whose length is short enough so as not to discourage a student or hobbyist. My reduced rating is solely due to the fact that the recording quality is not stellar. It came across as a bit too "fuzzy" for my taste and the baseline volume felt...

    a little low when playing alongside with my piano.

    Read More
    21 of 37 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No