• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Richard Strauss: 40 Songs

The Vocal Library

By Richard Strauss

Customer Rating:   1 Review Write a Review


Piano, Vocal (High Voice) - Difficulty: difficult
The Vocal Library. Composed by Richard Strauss (1864-1949). Edited by Laura Ward and Richard Walters. The Vocal Library. Classical Period and 20th Century. Collection. Vocal melody, lyrics, piano accompaniment, introductory text and translations. 180 pages. Published by Hal Leonard (HL.747062).

Item Number: HL.747062
ISBN 0793529352. With vocal melody, lyrics, piano accompaniment, introductory text and translations. Classical Period and 20th Century. 8.5x11 inches.

Special advisor to the edition: Evelyn Lear, renowned Strauss interpreter. A newly researched, edited and engraved edition of this major, standard art song literature. There are historical notes included for each song describing pertinent circumstances of composition and first performances. Line by line literal translations are given at the head of each song. This is the best, most informative edition of Strauss songs ever assembled. Contents include Ach Lieb, ich muss nun scheiden!, Die Zeitlose, Schlagende Herzen and more.

About The Vocal Library

A series of quality editions for voice from Hal Leonard Publishing.

  • Lueignung  Op. 10, No. 1
  • Nichts  Op. 10, No. 2
  • Die Nacht  Op. 10, No. 3
  • Die Georgine  Op. 10, No. 4
  • Die Zeitlose  Op. 10, No. 7
  • Allerseelen   Op. 10, No. 8
  • Seitdem dein Aug'  Op. 17, No. 1
  • Standchen  Op. 17, No. 2
  • Heimkehr  Op. 15, No. 5
  • Breit' uber mein Haupt  Op. 19, No. 2
  • Schon sind, doch kalt  Op. 19, No. 3
  • Wil solleten wir geheim sie halten  Op. 19, No.4
  • Mein Herz ist stumm  Op. 19, No. 6
  • All mein Gedanken  Op. 21, No. 1
  • Du meines Herzens Kronelein  Op. 21, No.2
  • Ach Lieb, ich muss nun scheiden!  Op. 21, No.3
  • Ach weh mir ungluckhaftem Mann  Op. 21, No. 4
  • Fruhlingsgedrange  Op. 26, No. 1
  • Ruhe, Meine Seele!  Op. 27, No. 1
  • Cacilie  Op. 27, No. 2
  • Heimliche Aufforderung  Op. 27, No. 3
  • Morgen!  Op. 27, No. 4
  • Traum durch di Dammerung  Op. 29, No. 1
  • Schlagende Herzen  Op. 29, No. 2
  • Nachtgang  Op. 29, No. 3
  • Ich Trage Meine Minne  Op. 32, No. 1
  • Fur funfzehn Pfennige  Op. 36, No. 2
  • Gluckes genug  Op. 37, No. 1
  • Menem Kinde  Op. 37, No. 3
  • Herr Lenz  Op. 37, No. 5
  • Leises Lied  Op. 39, No. 1
  • Befreit  Op. 39, No. 4
  • Wiegenlied  Op. 41a, No. 1
  • Ich schwebe  Op. 48, No. 2
  • Kling!  Op. 48, No. 1
  • Ich wollt ein Strausslein binden  Op. 68, No. 2
  • Amor  Op. 68, No. 5
  • Der Pokal  Op. 69, No. 2
  • Einerlei  Op. 69, No. 3
  • Schlechtes Wetter  Op. 69, No. 5

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
Richard Strauss: 40 Songs
Vocal Warm-Ups

Buy both for $32.94

AddtoCart Print

Richard Strauss: 40 Songs

The Vocal Library

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Richard Strauss: 40 Songs

The Vocal Library

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • August 22, 2007 A must for a soprano!

    This book its a must in all singers collections, I bought it because I knew 3 songs, but having the whole book, made me meet new and fascinating songs from Richard Strauss. It has music from intermediate to very diffiult level. I found very useful the prologue and the reference...

    /translation at the begining of every song.

    Read More
    35 of 69 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No