• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD

Guitar (Flatpicking)
Composed by Rev. Gary Davis. Boxed, Concert/Documentary. Vestapol. Blues. DVD. Duration 105 minutes. Published by Grossman's Guitar Workshop (MB.13111DVD).

Item Number: MB.13111DVD
ISBN 9781579408695. Blues. 5.25 x 7.5 inches.

The first two tracks are taken from a short film that played in theatres in the early 1960s. This was shot while Rev. Davis lived in the Bronx. The filmmaker was very interested in the ambience but we do get a chance to see Rev. Davis play. Pete Seeger's Rainbow Quest had one show that featured Rev. Davis along with Donovan and Shawn Phillips. The next two tunes are from this program. In 1969 Rev. Davis traveled to Seattle, Washington to play for the Folklore Society. Tracks 5-12 were filmed by the Anthropology Department of the University of Washington at the home of John Ullman.. This is rough footage but shows Rev. Davis relaxed amongst friends and his trusty cigar! During that stay John was able to take Rev. Davis in to a proper television studio and tracks 15-23 are from this session. These are seminal performances. The independent filmmaker Lionel Rogosin brought Rev. Davis together with other musicians for his film Black Roots. Tracks 24-26 are from this film. This collection ends with some very rough footage from the wedding celebration of John Gibbon (one of Rev. Davis's earliest New York students). This was originally recorded on reel to reel tape and over the years the tape disintegrated. So what we have left is a faint video image with good sound that shows Rev. Davis enjoying himself at a party with friends.

  • (I Heard) The Angels Singing  
  • Advice on Playing Guitar  
  • Buck Dance 
  • Calling for Irene  
  • Candyman 
  • Children of Zio  
  • Cincinnati Flow Rag (Slow Drag)  
  • Death Don't Have No Mercy  
  • Guitar Lesson (Twelve Gates To The City)  
  • Hard Walkin' Blues  
  • I Belong To The Band 
  • Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning 
  • Lord, I Feel Like Goin'  
  • Make Believe Stunt 
  • Oh Glory How Happy I Am  
  • Sally Where'd You Get Your Liquor From  
  • Samson And Delilah 
  • She's Just Funny That Way  
  • Spoonful 
  • Sun Is Goin' Down  
  • Talk on Death  
  • Twelve Gates To The City 
  • Twelve Gates To The City (Instrumental)  
  • Twelve Sticks 
  • Wouldn't Say Quit  

Buy Together




Buy both for $30.94

AddtoCart Print
Look Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD

Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List