World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Oscar Peterson Trios

By Oscar Peterson

By Oscar Peterson. Artist Transcriptions. 272 pages. Published by Hal Leonard (HL.672533).

Item Number: HL.672533
ISBN 0634077767. 9x12 inches.

19 authentic transcriptions from this jazz legend, including: Blues Etude • Hymn to Freedom • Misty • Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars • Witchcraft • and more.

  • Alice in Wonderland 
  • Lover 
  • Cheek To Cheek 
  • Indiana (Back Home Again In Indiana) 
  • It's only a Paper Moon 
  • Jitterbug Waltz 
  • Laura 
  • Misty 
  • Night and Day 
  • Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars (Corcovado) 
  • Tangerine 
  • Teach Me Tonight 
  • That Old Black Magic 
  • Watch What Happens 
  • Yesterdays 
  • Blues Etude 
  • Hymn To Freedom 
  • Emily 
  • Witchcraft 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
  • May 01, 2008 A good album

    Provides extensive transcriptions of solos (and examples of Oscar Peterson's playful introductions prior to the initial exposition of the melody) and gives a good idea of the riffs that Oscar Peterson favoured. This book has provided me with a number of new ideas on how to rework some classic...


    Read More
    26 of 47 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
  • January 09, 2008 Well worth it.

    Great collection. Great arrangments. This and the Tatum transcritions are almost all you need to know about Jazz piano.

    28 of 51 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Orono, ME
    Difficulty Level:
  • December 18, 2005 Excellent Collection, Fantastic Buy!

    Of the several Oscar Peterson transcriptions currently available, I rate this one the best. Over 260 pages of material consists of complete transcriptions (both hands) of recorded solos. "Alice" runs for 16 pages alone. Several pieces, such as "Emily" and "Laura" have elaborate runs and are exceptionally challenging. Simpler material...

    include two Harold Arlen favorites, as well as "Cheek to Cheek" and "Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars" from the Verve album "We Get Requests." Thus, the collection includes pieces that will appeal to players ranging from early intermediate to highly advanced. Transcriptions appear to be faithful to the recorded versions. Note the full rendition of "Blues Etude" included. Only the right hand (and that only until the first bass solo) appears in Miles Black's "Note for Note" transcriptions published by PG Music. (The reviewer studied classical piano through the Toronto Conservatory Gr.10 level, and has been a serious Peterson devotee for over 30 years.)

    Read More
    36 of 59 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No