• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Nine Sonatas

Nine Sonatas composed by Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757). Edited by Howard Ferguson. For Piano. Easier Piano Pieces. Grades 5-7. Sheet Music. Published by ABRSM (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music) (PE.9781854723499).

ISBN 1-85472-349-9.

From Domenico Scarlatti's vast output of 555 harpsichord sonatas a number have been edited and published by the Associated Board. Thirty-two of the easier sonatas have been edited by Howard Ferguson and published in three volumes within the Easier Piano Pieces series; these have been edited for performance on the piano and include dynamics and marks of articulation.

  • "Sonata in B minor, Kp. 87, L. 33"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in C, Kp. 86, L. 403"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in C, Kp. 159, L. 104"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in E minor, Kp. 402, L. 427"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in E, Kp. 531, L. 430"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in F minor, Kp. 462, L. 438"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in F sharp minor, Kp. 142"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in F sharp, Kp. 318, L. 31"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • "Sonata in G, Kp. 103, L. 233"  Performed by Alessandro Scarlatti
Look Nine Sonatas

Nine Sonatas

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Nine Sonatas

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 5

    Stuart, FL
    Difficulty Level:
  • October 16, 2011 Scarlatti - Nine Sonatas by Royal Schools of Music

    Nicely packaged, clear imprint on good contrast quality paper, excellent fingering suggestions. I rate the B-minor K87 Intermediate / Advanced, because it takes controlled finger positioning to strike every note in both hands concurrently, else in a piece with such a slow and even tempo of 62 beats per quarter...

    note, and only restrained use of the sustain pedal, every note stands out and sound muddling is apparent. There are also a lot of subtle secondary phrases to contrast with the melody. Check out Horowitz (Tokyo 1986)and Pogorelich on You Tube for inspiration.

    Read More
    18 of 30 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No