• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Little Women

Piano/Keyboard, Vocal
Opera in Two Acts. Composed by Mark Adamo. Vocal Score. 328 pages. G. Schirmer #ED4130. Published by G. Schirmer (HL.50483808).

Item Number: HL.50483808
ISBN 0634020927. 9x12 inches.

Commissioned by the Houston Grand Opera for its Opera Studio, Mark Adamo's Little Women premiered on March 13, 1998. The opera's libretto (also written by Adamo and available for sale, HL50484155) adapts Louisa May Alcott's classic novel about four sisters who come of age just after the American Civil War. Exploring three central themes of the book, Adamo's opera focuses upon Jo March's resistance to the passage of time. Powerfully theatrical and musically sophisticated, Little Women notably contains a wealth of memorable melodies and tuneful arias. A compact disc recording of Houston Grand Opera's production is available on Ondine ODE 988-2D as well; the production was recently seen nationwide in a high-definition television broadcast produced by PBS.

  • Prologue 
  • Introduction: "Four little chests" 
  • Recit: "Laurie!" "The very same, madam" 
  • Aria: "Couldn't I unbake the breads" 
  • ACT I 
  • Scene 1 
  • Recit: "Barristers! It's quarter past" 
  • Anthem: "Again we meet to celebrate" 
  • Recit: "Major, minor" 
  • Ensemble: "Truth or Fabrication?" 
  • Recit: "Supper! Half an hour" 
  • Aria: "Perfect as we are" 
  • Scene 2 
  • Recit: "Rigmarole?" 
  • Aria: "There was a knight, once..." 
  • Recit: "Oh, this cannot be borne" 
  • Chorale/Scene 
  • Recit: "Our own Fanny Mendelssohn" 
  • Recit. "Mr. John Brooke" 
  • Interlude 
  • Aria: "Things change, Jo" 
  • Recit: "I understand" 
  • Scene 3 
  • Recit: "Aunt! Now, I haven't done any shading yet" 
  • Aria & Duet: "We stand together" 
  • Recit: "Jupiter Ammon!" 
  • Recit: "What is it, Laurie?" 
  • Duet: "Things change" 
  • ACT II 
  • Scherzo: "Cockling?" 
  • Ensemble: Letter Scene 
  • Nocturne 
  • Aria: "Kennst du das Land" 
  • Aria: "Do You Know the Land" 
  • Fantasia 
  • Recit: "She's asked for you" 
  • Aria: "Have peace, Jo" 
  • Chorale 
  • Scene 4 
  • Recit: "That's the trouble with solitaire" 
  • Aria & Duet: "Joy beyond measure, Mother" 
  • Recit: "She sounds very happy" 
  • Aria & Duet: "You, alone" 
  • Scene 5 
  • Soliloquy: "So the days go by" 
  • Aria & Quartet: "Let me look at you" 
  • Postlude 
  • "We stand together" 

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
Little Women
Vocal Warm-Ups

Buy both for $93.95

AddtoCart Print

Little Women

Opera in Two Acts

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Little Women

Opera in Two Acts

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List