• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.

Light of the Spirit

Light of the Spirit

  • Format:


Be the first! Write a Review


Light of the Spirit 2 Audio CDs (SACD format). Published by Hinshaw Music Inc. (HI.HS287CD).

Originally released as two CDs (Illumina and Blessed Spirit) this double-SACD collects together all of the tracks from these two acclaimed recordings, made in the sumptuous acoustic of the Lady Chapel at Ely Cathedral.SACDs can be played like a normal CD on all CD players, but those with SACD players will be able to enjoy these recordings in brilliant surround sound.

  • Disc 1: Illumina 
  • 1. Lumen - Gregorian chant 
  • 2. Bring us, O Lord God  Performed by William Harris
  • 3. Ehtoohymni - Einojuhani Rautavaara (from Vigilia) 
  • 4. Nyinye otpushchayeshi (Nunc dimittis), from the All-Night Vigil, op. 37  Performed by Sergei Rachmaninov
  • 5. O Lux beata Trinitas  Performed by William Byrd
  • 6. O coruscans lux stellarum  Performed by Hildegard Of Bingen
  • 7. O nata lux  Performed by Thomas Tallis
  • 8. Te lucis ante terminum  Performed by Thomas Tallis
  • 9. Hymn to the Creator of Light  Performed by John Rutter
  • 10. Hail, gladdening Light  Performed by Charls Wood
  • 11. Christe, qui lux es et dies  Performed by Robert Whyte
  • 12. Nunc dimittis  Performed by Gustav Holst
  • 13. Christe, qui lux es et dies  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • 14. Nunc dimittis  Performed by Josquin Desprez
  • 15. Svyetye tikhii (Hail, gladding Light), from the Liturgy of Holy Week, op. 58  Performed by Alexander Grechaninov
  • 16. Svyetye tikhii (Hail, gladding Light), from the All-Night Vigil, op. 52  Performed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • 17. Lucis Creator optime  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • 18. Lux aeterna  Performed by Gyorgy Ligeti

  • Disc 2: Blessed Spirit 
  • 1. Requiem aeternam - Gregorian chant 
  • 2. Kontakion of the departed - Kiev chant 
  • 3. Selig sind die Toten  Performed by Heinrich Schutz
  • 4. Blessed are they (Blazheni, iazhe izbral), No. 7 of Nine Sacred Pieces, 1885  Performed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • 5. Funeral Ikos  Performed by John Tavener
  • 6. Domine Jesu Christe - Gregorian chant 
  • 7. O quam gloriosum  Performed by T.L. De Victoria
  • 8. Psalm 121 & Requiem aeternam  Performed by H. Walford Davies
  • 9. The Evening-watch, Op. 43 No. 1  Performed by Gustav Holst
  • 10. Steal away - Spiritual  Performed by Timothy Brown (arr.)
  • 11. There is an old belief, No. 4 of Songs of Farewell  Performed by Charles Hubert Hastings Parry
  • 12. O quanta qualia - from the Rheinau Hymnal (1459) 
  • 13. Justorum animae  Performed by William Byrd
  • 14. Deep river - Spiritual  Performed by Norman Luboff (arr.)
  • 15. In paradisum - Gregorian chant 
  • 16. O felix anima  Performed by Hildegard Of Bingen
  • 17. Audivi vocem de caelo  Performed by John Sheppard
  • 18. Faire is the heaven  Performed by William Harris
Look Light of the Spirit

Light of the Spirit

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Light of the Spirit

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

See Similar Sheet Music

Format: CD