• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 2

Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 2 edited by Dennis Alexander and Ingrid Jacobson Clarfield. For Piano. Graded Standard Repertoire; Masterworks; Piano Collection. Masterwork. Early Intermediate; Intermediate. Book. 64 pages. Published by Alfred Music (AP.21364).

ISBN 0739030280. Masterwork.

Keys to Stylistic Mastery teaches the basic principles of the five stylistic periods (Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionist and Contemporary) to piano students. The pieces were chosen to provide a helpful transition from method books to the classics. Composer Dennis Alexander has written at least one piece in the style of each period. Information about each style period, listing selected composers, keyboard instruments and typical forms, precedes the music from that period. Brief biographies of all composers represented are included.

  • Aborigine  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Air  Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Allegro  Additional credits Domenico Zipoli
  • Arietta in B-Flat Major  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Bagatelle  Composed by Anton Diabelli
  • Bourrée in D Minor  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Children's Game  Composed by Béla Bartók
  • Farewell  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Fuga  Additional credits Johann Pachelbel
  • Le Rêve Interrompu  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Les Nuits Mystiques  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Little Flower  Composed by Cornelius Gurlitt
  • Longing  Composed by Cornelius Gurlitt
  • Menuett  Additional credits Georg Philipp Telemann
  • Minuet In A Major  Composed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Prelude  Composed by George Frideric Handel
  • The Prince of Denmark's March  Additional credits Jeremiah Clarke
  • Rondo in G Major  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Scherzo  Additional credits Carl Maria Von Weber
  • Shepherd Playing on His Pipe  Composed by Vladimir Rebikov
  • Sonatina in C Major  Additional credits Heinrich Lichner
  • Spanish Dance  Additional credits Theodor Oesten
  • Teratornis  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Valsette  Additional credits Jean Sibelius
  • Waltz in E-flat Major  Composed by Muzio Clementi
Look Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 2

Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 2

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 2

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 5

    Goleta, CA
    Difficulty Level:
  • April 03, 2009 A well-balanced collection

    Each era is preceded by a two-page summary of compositional techniques and how these relate to keyboard playing; especially useful is the detailed information regarding ornaments in the Baroque pieces. Highlights include the "Prince of Denmark's March" by Clarke, "Valsette" by Sibelius, and "Les nuits mystiques", an impressionistic...

    tone poem by one of the editors, Dennis Alexander. Each section concludes with a more challenging composition, e.g. the Prelude in G major by Handel, which will require intermediate-level ability. The one drawback is that the selections from the "Contemporary" period are fairly tame (the Bartok and Rebikov pieces stick to minor mode for the most part), with the exception of "Aborigine", which features the raised 4th degree, tone clusters, and changing meter. But overall this is a valuable resource for teachers with emerging intermediate students.

    Read More
    16 of 28 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No