World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Clifton Chenier - King of Zydeco

By Clifton Chenier

Accordion (Keyboard) - Intermediate
Composed by Clifton Chenier. Edited by Gary Dahl. Saddle-stitched, Transcribed Solos. Arhoolie. Cajun-Zydeco. Book. 36 pages. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.96616).

Item Number: MB.96616
ISBN 9780786628384. Cajun-Zydeco. 8.5 x 11 inches.

This collection of 15 accordion arrangements of tunes by Clifton Chenier (1925-1987) clearly demonstrates why he is known as the undisputed King of Zydeco music. Written for the piano accordion as opposed to the Cajun button accordion, all of the selections in this book are transcribed from Chenier's 1965-1987 recordings on Arhoolie Records. The featured tunes are: "Ain't No Need of Cryin'" "Tu le Ton Son Ton," "I'm Coming Home," "Jole Blonde," "Calinda," "Louisiana Two-Step," "Ay, Ai, Ai," "Louisiana Blues," "Black Gal," "Big Momou," "I'm on the Wonder," "Zydeco Cha Cha," "I'm a Hog for You," "Zydeco et Pas Sale," and "Black Snake Blues." Dix Bruce con- tributes a fine essay on the colorful life of Clifton Chenier. A delightful companion CD recording is available in the spirit of Chenier's signature cry- "Laissez les bon ton roulet!" (Let the good times role!) *** Note: 10 songs out of 15 are on the cd, 96616CD Clifton Chenier "60 Minutes with the King of Zydeco." The other 5 songs are transcribed from other Arhooolie CDs by Clifton Chenier.

  • Black Gal  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • I'm On The Wonder  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Ay, Ai, Ai  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Big Mamou  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Calinda  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Louisiana Blues (Aka No Need To Cry)  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Zydeco Et Pas Sale  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • I'm Coming Home  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Louisiana Two Step  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Ain't No Need Of Cryin' (English Version Of Louis  Performed by Written & Arranged By Clifton Chenier
  • Jole Blonde  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Tu Le Ton Son Ton  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Zydeco Cha Cha  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • I'm A Hog For You  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Black Snake Blues  Performed by Clifton Chenier
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • June 03, 2012 No lyrics text

    The book does not contain song's text. I'm from Italy and for me the text is very important. These lyrics are not in the web. I's a pity. If I knew I'd not bought the book.

    12 of 24 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Albuquerque, NM
    Difficulty Level:
  • April 30, 2011 Recommend

    I had never played Zydeco music. These arrangements have a real Cajun sound and are fun to play. The blues numbers are great. The arrangements are full enough to be performed as a solo.

    20 of 41 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Paul B. Moore
    Difficulty Level:
  • August 16, 2004 Great Zydeco transcription from Dahl.

    Great Clifton Chenier Zydeco transcription from Gary Dahl. Also some terrific blues numbers as well. If you want to put some snap into your accordion I highly recommend this book. In addition, if you want to even come close to emulating Chenier's style be sure to get the CD...

    too. Zydeco Cha Cha rocks and is one of the easier tunes to start with.

    Read More
    34 of 58 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No