World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Circus Dances

Suite for Piano

By Jorg Widmann

Circus Dances
Be the first! Write a Review

Piano - Grade 4
Suite for Piano. Composed by Jorg Widmann. This edition: ED 21405. Piano Music. Composed 2012. Duration 20 minutes. Published by Schott Music (SD.49019358).

Item Number: SD.49019358

ISBN 9790001188173.

My dark and shadowy piano Intermezzi are followed by these Zirkustanze [circus dances]. They are naturally - on a superficial level - simpler, more cheerful, brighter and also more garish, drastic and playful than my previous composition, but my objective in these dances involving the protagonists of a circus is a simple but profound and omnipresent truth: there is a constant real danger that the tightrope walker will fall. On the subject of our childlike amazement as an observer: it is not our amazement which is false, but the fact that we adults think we are no longer allowed to feel this emotion! And although the tears of the sad clown are artificial, they are nevertheless highly realistic. The Zirkustanze are conceived as a cycle, but individual movements can also be performed separately, for example as encore pieces. These dances are dedicated in friendship to Andras Schiff. Jorg Widmann.

  • I Fanfare 
  • II Boogie Woogie 
  • III Erster Walzer 
  • IV Vier Strophen vom Heimweh 
  • V Valse bavaroise 
  • VI Valse sentimentale 
  • VII Kinderreim 
  • VIII Karussell-Walzer 
  • IX Hebraische Melodie 
  • X Venezianisches Gondellied 
  • XI Bayerisch-babylonischer Marsch 
Close X

I am a music teacher.