World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Beginning French Horn Solos, Vol. I (Mason Jones)

French horn
Instrumental Solo Part and CD. Published by Music Minus One (MO.MMOCD3511).

Item Number: MO.MMOCD3511

ISBN 1596152109. Soloist: Mason Jones, French horn; Accompaniment: Vladimir Sokoloff, piano.

Listen as extraordinary virtuoso Mason Jones of the Philadelphia Orchestra plays each of these wonderful beginning-level solos on french horn, then use his performance suggestions and perform them yourself with Vladimir Sokoloff, virtuoso piano accompanist. There is no better way to learn what it means to achieve first chair status with a major orchestra. Now digitally remastered for brilliant, immersive sound!

Includes a high-quality printed solo part containing the solo part, annotated with performance suggestions; and a digitally remastered compact disc with complete versions (with soloist) followed by piano accompaniments to each piece, minus the soloist.

  • Farewell Song  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven (arr. Jones
  • Gagliardo  Performed by Girolamo Frescobaldi (arr. Phillips)
  • Rondo, KV490: 'Non Piu Tutto Ascoltai'  Performed by W.A. Mozart (arr. Jones)
  • Cavatina - Etude, op. 10, no. 3  Performed by Frederic Chopin (arr. Buchtel)
  • Hungarian Folk Song  Performed by Bela Bartok (arr. M. Jones)
  • Melody for Horn  Performed by Morine A. Nyquist
  • To Spring  Performed by Edvard Grieg (arr. L.B. Smith; Ed. Farkas)
  • Cavatina  Performed by Vladimir Bakaleinikov
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • September 30, 2007 thanx

    your piece has made it easy to learn others

    19 of 38 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No