World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


BEETHOVEN: String Quartets, Op. 18: No. 1 in F major & No. 4 in C minor

By Ludwig van Beethoven

Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Instrumental Solo Part and CD. Published by Music Minus One (MO.MMOCD3158).

Item Number: MO.MMOCD3158

ISBN 1596151870. Ensemble: The Classic String Quartet.

In 1798, Beethoven commenced the writing of the biggest project in his first decade in Vienna, a set of six String Quartets which would become his opus 18. The F major, though listed as No. 1, was the second composed. It is an impressive piece, and its beautiful D-minor adagio was inspired by the burial-vault scene in Shakespeare's 'Romeo and Juliet.' The Fourth Quartet, in C minor, is a fascinating piece which incorporates a gypsy theme into its final movement. Beautiful writing from the latter part of Beethoven's 'early' period.

Includes a complete, high-quality printed solo part; and a compact disc containing stereo accompaniments minus you, the first violinist.

  • String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, op. 18, no. 4  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • String Quartet No. 1 in F major, op. 18, no. 1  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 3

    Difficulty Level:
  • September 02, 2002 Full performance missing from CD

    The performance is good, but the tempi would create difficulties for intermediate players. A very good introduction to Beethoven's chamber music. Contrary to the published description, I was disappointed to find that my CD copy does not contain the full performance, just the "accompaniment" version.

    25 of 43 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No