• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


American Folksongs

American Folksongs (The Vocal Library Low Voice). Arranged by Bryan Stanley and Richard Walters. For Vocal. Vocal Collection. 208 pages. Published by Hal Leonard (HL.740188).

ISBN 0634047620. 9x12 inches.

Concert arrangements for voice and piano in an art song style of 35 great folksongs from the American heritage. These interesting and expressive settings are appropriate for collegiate recitals or advanced high school singers as contest solos. The songs range from comic to sad, from rowdy to inspirational, and there are selections appropriate for women and men singers. The collection is primarily comprised of secular folksongs, with a few sacred American folk tunes. The same songs appear, transposed, in the editions for High Voice and Low Voice. There are three bonus duets included. Includes fresh arrangements of “Amazing Grace,” “Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair,” “The Cruel War Is Raging,” “How Can I Keep from Singing?,” “I Gave My Love a Cherry,” “Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier,” “Shenandoah,” “Soldier, Soldier, Will You Marry Me,” “The Streets of Laredo,” “Wayfaring Stranger,” “Wondrous Love” and more.

  • SHENANDOAH (arr. Stanley) 
  • BANKS OF THE OHIO (arr. Walters) 
  • THE BATTLE ON SHILOH'S HILL (arr. Stanley) 
  • BEWARE, OH, TAKE CARE (arr. Walters) 
  • Bill Groggin's Goat (arr. Walters) 
  • BURY ME BENEATH THE WILLOW (arr. Stanley) 
  • DAUGHTER, WILL YOU MARRY? (arr. Stanley) 
  • HOW FIRM A FOUNDATION (arr. Walters) 
  • Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier (arr. Walters) 
  • MIGHTY DAY (arr. Stanley) 
  • NINE HUNDRED MILES (arr. Walters) 
  • ONCE I HAD A SWEETHEART (arr. Walters) 
  • SACRAMENTO (arr. Stanley) 
  • SINGLE GIRL (arr. Walters) 
  • WAYFARING STRANGER (arr. Walters) 
  • WHISTLE, DAUGHTER, WHISTLE (arr. Stanley) 
  • AMAZING GRACE (arr. Walters) 
  • SAILING AROUND (arr. Walters) 
  • HOW CAN I KEEP FROM SINGING (duet) (arr. Walters) 
  • HOW CAN I KEEP FROM SINGING (solo) (arr. Walters) 
  • WE ARE CLIMBING JACOB'S LADDER (duet) (arr. Walters) 
  • WE ARE CLIMBING JACOB'S LADDER (solo) (arr. Walters) 
  • WONDROUS LOVE (duet) arr. Walters 
  • WONDROUS LOVE (solo) arr. Walters 
  • HONEST PLOUGHMAN, THE (arr. Stanley) 
  • HOUSEWIFE'S LAMENT, THE (arr. Stanley) 
  • RIVER IN THE PINES, THE (arr. Stanley) 
  • STREETS OF LAREDO, THE (arr. Walters) 
  • CRUEL WAR IS RAGING, THE (arr. Walters) 

American Folksongs

The Vocal Library Low Voice

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

American Folksongs

The Vocal Library Low Voice

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
  • January 16, 2008 Nice selection

    I am using this book for a region music festival. My students liked about half of the selected music. Which is a plus. The accompaniment for the most of the songs is intriguing. Nice book.

    20 of 39 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No