• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


American Arias


By Various

Customer Rating:   1 Review Write a Review


Piano Accompaniment, Voice
Soprano. Composed by Various. Edited by Philip Brunelle. Boosey & Hawkes Voice. Play Along. Softcover Audio Online. 144 pages. Boosey & Hawkes #M051933631. Published by Boosey & Hawkes (HL.48018052).

Item Number: HL.48018052
ISBN 0634087339. Play Along. 9x12 inches.

The Boosey & Hawkes catalog is one of the greatest treasures of contemporary American vocal literature. This major new series celebrates greatness in American opera, with arias from Carlisle Floyd's Susannah, Stravinsky's The Rake's Progress, John Adams' Nixon in China, Leonard Bernstein's Trouble in Tahiti, Dominick Argento's Postcard from Morocco, and other operas by Argento and Floyd, Jack Beeson, Ned Rorem and other American composers.

American Arias is suitable for professional and college-level singers, ideal for recitals and auditions, and an essential resource for the study of the American opera repertoire. The series presents many arias that have never been published outside of the original complete vocal scores. There are approximately 20 arias per volume. Each collection includes commentary on the operas and arias, and a CD of recorded piano accompaniments.

  • Magnificat (EL NINO)- John Adams 
  • This is prophetic! (NIXON IN CHINA)-John Adams 
  • The Widow's Aria (THE BOOR)-Dominick Argento 
  • Sabrina's Aria (COLONEL JONATHAN THE SAINT)-Dominick Argento 
  • Allegra's Aria (COLONEL JONATHAN THE SAINT)-Dominick Argento 
  • I see in you a looking glass (MISS HAVISHAM'S FIRE)- Dominick Argento 
  • Lady with a Hand Mirror Aria (POSTCARD FROM MOROCCO)-Dominick Argento 
  • Virginia's Aria (THE VOYAGE OF EDGAR ALLAN POE)-Dominick Argento 
  • Queenie's Song (THE SECOND HURRICANE)-Aaron Copland 
  • Laurie's Song (THE TENDER LAND)-Aaron Copland 
  • The sun is coming up (THE TENDER LAND)-Aaron Copland 
  • Rented rooms (COLD SASSY TREE)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • Sadie's Lament (SLOW DUSK)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • Someday I'm sure to marry you (THE SOJOURNER AND MOLLIE SINCLAIR)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • Ain't it a pretty night (SUSANNAH)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • The trees on the mountain (SUSANNAH)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • I should have ended it long ago (WILLIE STARK)-Carlisle Floyd 
  • No word from Tom...Cabaletta (THE RAKE'S PROGRESS)- Igor Stravinsky 
  • Mommy, are you here (A QUIET PLACE)-Leonard Bernstein 
  • Cabaletta 

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
American Arias
Vocal Warm-Ups

Buy both for $46.94

AddtoCart Print

American Arias


* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

American Arias


* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List

  • Ratings + Reviews

    Write a Review
    Based on 1 Review
  • 2

    Difficulty Level:
  • September 27, 2010 Disappointed

    I bought this specifically for No Word from Tom, and the book contains the cavatina (No word from tom) and the cabaletta (I go, I go to him)...but not the linking section, so I can't perform it, or even learn it!!! I'm really disappointed. The other arias...

    are great - lots of Argento and Carlisle Floyd, plus good arias from other good composers, but I'm pretty sad the whole aria isn't included: it seems false advertising to me. Be warned!!!

    Read More
    43 of 71 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No