• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


A Cappella

An Anthology of Unaccompanied Choral Music From Seven Centuries

By John Gardner; Simon Harris

Be the first! Write a Review


A Cappella (An Anthology of Unaccompanied Choral Music From Seven Centuries). Composed by John Gardner; Simon Harris. For Mixed Choir a cappella. This edition: Paperback. Mixed Voices. Oxford Songbooks. Secular, Choral Collection. Choral Collection. 144 pages. Published by Oxford University Press (OU.9780193361997).

ISBN 9780193361997. Secular, Choral Collection. 10 x 7 inches.

A Cappella is a unique anthology which casts its net far and wide across seven centuries of unaccompanied European choral music. It's a fascinating selection of thirty pieces, ideal for enterprising choirs which are looking for something out of the ordinary to enliven their repertoire.

Diversity and eclecticism are the hallmarks of this stimulating collection: the pieces range from two to eight voices; from monuments of the Renaissance to miniature canons by Lawes, Schuberts, and Brahms; from "Sumer is icumen in" to Stanfod and Grieg. This is a truly European anthology, encompassing the music of composers from England, France, Spain, Norway, Italy, Germany, and the Netherlands.

The contents are arranged chronologically, and though they include a few classics of the genre that no such survey can afford to ignore, the majority of pieces are (unjustifiably) lesser known. All are newly edited from their sources, at original pitch and in original note-values wherever practical: minimal editorial intervention allows this music to breathe afresh. There are notes on each piece, and prose translations for non-English texts.

  • Preface 
  • Editorial Notes 
  • Sumer is icumen in / Perspice christicola  Performed by Anoymous
  • Ave regina  Performed by Guillaume Dufay
  • Ach herzigs Herz  Performed by Heinrich Finck
  • Puisq'en amour  Performed by Sermisy
  • Tri ciechi siamo  Performed by Nola
  • Lugebat David Absalom  Performed by Josquin/Gombert
  • Los bracs traygo cansados  Performed by Vasquez
  • La nuit froie et sombre  Performed by Orlande De Lassus
  • Laetentur Coeli  Performed by Byrd
  • Miracolo D'amore  Performed by Anerio
  • Miraculous love's woundind  Performed by Thomas Morley
  • Benedictus Qui Venit  Performed by Giovanni Pierluigi Da Palestrina
  • Iubilate Deo  Performed by Adam Gumpelzhaimer
  • She weepeth sore  Performed by W. Lawes
  • Draw on, sweet night  Performed by John Wilbye
  • Dolcissima mia vita  Performed by Don Carlo Gesualdo
  • The Silver Swan  Performed by Orlando Gibbons
  • Der Kuckuck  Performed by Steffens
  • Jesu, dulcis memoria  Performed by Dering
  • Gaudete Omnes  Performed by Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  • Ich bin eine rufende Stimme  Performed by Heinrich Schutz
  • Hear My Prayer, O Lord  Performed by Henry Purcell
  • Wo der perlender Wein  Performed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Tod und Schlaf  Performed by Franz Joseph Haydn
  • Lacrimoso son io  Performed by Franz Schubert
  • Wenn Kummer hatte zu toten Macht  Performed by Johannes Brahms
  • An den Sturmwind  Performed by Cornelius
  • Christus factus est  Performed by Anton Bruckner
  • Beati Quorum Via  Performed by Charles Villiers Stanford
  • Guds son har gjort mig fri  Performed by Edvard Grieg

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
A Cappella
Folder - Legacy Choral

Buy both for $37.49

AddtoCart Print
Look A Cappella

A Cappella

An Anthology of Unaccompanied Choral Music From Seven Centuries

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

A Cappella

An Anthology of Unaccompanied Choral Music From Seven Centuries

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

Digital Print is printable sheet music available anytime, anywhere. Just purchase, print and play! View your sheet music at home, school, work or anywhere you have a computer connected to the Internet.

Now you can also view your purchased titles on your iPad with our
free Sheet Music Plus Digital Print Viewer app.

With Digital Print, you can print from your computer immediately after purchase, or wait until its convenient. And our software installation is easy - we'll guide you through the simple steps to make sure you have Adobe Flash Player, Adobe AIR and the Sheet Music Plus AIR application on your computer.
See all System Requirements for Digital Print

Note: Our Digital Print items are purchased solely through our website. By purchasing a Digital Print item, you are authorized by the publisher to print out the purchased number of copies for that particular title. Thus, we are unable to fax, mail or email digital titles in any form or file format (including PDF) as it violates copyright law.

Google Chrome Users: The most recent Google Chrome update is not compatible with Adobe AIR. We recommend using an alternate browser (such as Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox) in order to download Adobe AIR and print your music.

Digital Print - Available Instantly!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please contact us at digital@sheetmusicplus.com.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List