• (0)

    There are currently no items in your cart.


1. Symphonie

1. Symphonie (Versuch eines Requiems). Composed by Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905-1963). For alto voice and orchestra. This edition: ED 4577. Scores. Study score. Text language: English. Composed 1935-36/54. 72 pages. Duration 35 minutes. Published by Schott Music (SD.49005005).

ISBN 9790001053648. With Text language: English.

Karl Amadeus Hartmann wrote his first symphony in 1935/36. At that time he was still an unknown musician whose works stood no chance of being performed and who could not hope to find encouragement in his native Germany. He had to wait more than ten years for its first performance, which finally took place in Frankfurt in the spring of 1948 under the direction of Winfried Zillig. I was 21 at the time, and the work left an extraordinarily deep impression on me, an impression that marked the beginning of myadmiration for Hartmann's music and its very special kind of intellectuality, which struck me as both important and significant: by this I mean its spontaneous and unrefracted immediacy, its honesty and straightforwardness - qualities that extend beyond this composer's works and affect his whole surroundings, including his fellow human beings. All Hartmann's works, moreover, contain an essential element of the art of compostion, namely, an exact correspondence between the artist's insistent need to express himself and the instrumental resources that he chooses. A superficial listener might perhaps fail to notice at first that the huge orchestral apparatus that Hartmann conjures up exactly matches his powerful expressivity and the colourful nature of his rhetoric. There is also the expansiveness and physically charged vitality of the native of southern Germany, a man capable of combining his own sense of inwardness with the beauty of the moment and a feeling of hymnic grandeur. It is a combination that reflects his own south German countryside and that answers a need to communicate sustained by his own unwavering faith in humanity.- Hans Werner Henze, in: Hartmann: "Kleine Schriften".

Look 1. Symphonie

1. Symphonie

Versuch eines Requiems

* = required

How do you rate this item?
Your Screen Name:


This name will appear next to your review. Leave it blank if you wish to appear as "Anonymous".

Review Title:

50 Character maximum.

Review of the Product:

1000 characters maximum.

Rate this product's difficulty level:


Example: "Emeryville, CA"

Email address:


Used to contact you regarding your review. If you do not wish to be contacted, leave it blank.

Review Guidelines
  • Explain exactly why you liked or disliked the product. Do you like the artist? Is the transcription accurate? Is it a good teaching tool?
  • Consider writing about your experience and musical tastes. Are you a beginner who started playing last month? Do you usually like this style of music?
  • Feel free to recommend similar pieces if you liked this piece, or alternatives if you didn't.
  • Be respectful of artists, readers, and your fellow reviewers. Please do not use inappropriate language, including profanity, vulgarity, or obscenity.
  • Avoid disclosing contact information (email addresses, phone numbers, etc.), or including URLs, time-sensitive material or alternative ordering information.
  • We cannot post your review if it violates these guidelines. If you have any suggestions or comments on the guidelines, please email us.
  • All submitted reviews become the licensed property of Sheet Music Plus and are subject to all laws pertaining thereto. If you believe that any review contained on our site infringes upon your copyright, please email us.
  • Read Sheet Music Plus's complete Privacy Policy

1. Symphonie

Versuch eines Requiems

* = required

Send to email(s):

To send to more than one person, separate addresses with a comma.

Your name:
Your email:
Personal message:

Tell a friend (or remind yourself) about this product. We'll instantly send an email containing product info and a link to it. You may also enter a personal message.

We do not use or store email addresses from this form for any other purpose than sending your share email.

Read our Privacy Policy.

After purchase, you can download your MP3 from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also listen to your MP3 at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase, you can download your Smart Music from your Sheet Music Plus Digital Library - no software installation is necessary! You can also download at any time in your Digital Library.
After purchase you can download your video from your Digital Library. Your video is in XX format and is playable on most pre-installed video players.

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List