Go to Product Detail Page

Weeping, crying, sorrow, sighing

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Look Weeping, crying, sorrow, sighing
Detailed Description

Weeping, crying, sorrow, sighing (Jubilate). Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Ulrich Leisinger. For ATB vocal soli, SATB choir, oboe, bassoon, trumpet, 2 violins, 2 violas, basso continuo. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. German title: Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen. Cantatas, Special days, Easter and Eastertide, Praise and thanks. Vocal score. Language: German/English. Composed 1714. BWV 12. 24 pages. Duration 26 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.3101203).

With Language: German/English. Cantatas, Special days, Easter and Eastertide, Praise and thanks.

On the 2nd March 1714 Bach, who until then had been employed as a chamber musician and organist at he Court of Duke Wilhelm Ernst in Weimar, was promoted to the position of concert master, and was instructed to relieve the ailing Kapellmeister Johann Samuel Drese by composing and performing "new pieces monthly" for the church. Following the cantata "Himmelskonig, sei willkommen, BWV 182, the present cantate was the second work which Bach composed under the terms of his new contract. The extraordinary musical ambition evident in the first Weimar cantatas may have had its roots in the fact htat Bach aspired to become Drese's successor as Court Kapellmeister.

Score available separately - see item CA.3101200.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List