Go to Product Detail Page


By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Look Christus
Detailed Description

Christus (Oratorienfragment. Teil I: Die Geburt Christi Teil II: Das Leiden Christi). Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by R. Larry Todd. For tenor solo voice, SATTBB choir, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, timpani, 2 violins, viola, cello, contrabass. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. Score available separately - see item CA.4013100. Oratorios, Lent and Passiontide, Holy Week, Christmas. Level 3. Vocal score. Language: German/English. Composed 1847. Op. 97. 24 pages. Duration 21 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.4017003).

ISBN M-007-06360-3. With Language: German/English. Oratorios, Lent and Passiontide, Holy Week, Christmas.

Mendelssohns unfinished 3rd oratorio in its first critical edition. The parts "Die Geburt Christi" and "Das Leiden Christi" are presented with full orchestration. In 1852, five years after Mendelsohn's death, two independently-performable fragments of an unfinished oratorio were published under the title "Christus". The second fragment, "The Suffering of Jesus", comes from the middle of the Passion story: the scene "Jesus before Pilot" is presented with rapid, dramatic alternation between the recitatives of the evangelist (tenor) and choruses of the people. A contemplative choral movement closes the fragment.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List