Go to Product Detail Page

Let all the gates be raised

By Georg Philipp Telemann

Look Let all the gates be raised
Detailed Description

Let all the gates be raised (Kantate zum 1. Advent). Composed by Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767). Edited by Traugott Fedtke / Klaus Hofmann. Arranged by Traugott Fedtke. For S(A)TB vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 oboes, 2 violins, viola, basso continuo. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. German title: Machet die Tore weit. Cantatas, German Psalms, Advent, Praise and thanks. Level 3. Full score. Language: German/English. TVWV 1:1074. 64 pages. Duration 16 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.3910500).

ISBN M-007-05520-2. With Language: German/English. Cantatas, German Psalms, Advent, Praise and thanks.

The Advent cantata Machet die Tore weit has long been one of the most frequently performed of Telemann's sacred works. Among the copies of this cantata which have been handed down is a copy by J. S. Bach which bears testimony to the high respect he paid to his then more celebrated colleague from Hamburg: It is a copy of the score in the hand of the Thomaskantor which was made for a performance in Leipzig on Avent Sunday in 1734 (therefore during the same period as the first performance of Bach's Christmas Oratorio). Of the four solo singers the soprano and bass, each of whom has an aria, are indispensable. The brief alto solos in the opening chorus can be sung by a member of the choir, and the tenor recitative can be sung by the soprano soloist.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List