Go to Product Detail Page

Musikalische Exequien I-III

By Heinrich Schutz

Detailed Description

Musikalische Exequien I-III composed by Heinrich Schutz (1585-1672). Edited by Gunter Graulich. Arranged by Paul Horn. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. German title: Musikalische Exequien I-III. Requiem, Lent and Passiontide, Mourning, death. Full score. 64 pages. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.2027900).

ISBN M-007-03399-6. Requiem, Lent and Passiontide, Mourning, death.

Heinrich Schuetz composed the Musikalische Exequien SWV 279-281 for the funeral of his patron Prince Heinrich Posthumus Reuss 1635/1636. Of the three parts, which were to be performed during three different sections of the funeral service, the first part, in the form of a sacred concerto for choir and soloists, is based on the numerous biblical passages which, in accordance with the instructions given by the deceased were to be recited at the coffin which the deceased himself had designed during his lifetime. This part is followed by a motet for double choir based on the text of a sermon ("Herr, wenn ich nur dich habe"), and at the conclusion of the hymn of praise to Simeon ("Herr, nun lassest du deinen Diener fahren"), a choir apart from the main choir intones "Selig sind die Toten" from heaven, so to speak. With this composition, written as a commission, Schuetz created one of the most artistic and heartfelt works of mourning ever written in the history of music.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List