Go to Product Detail Page

Requiem in C minor

By Michael Haydn

Look Requiem in C minor
Detailed Description

SATB vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 clarinos/trumpets, 2 trumpets, (3 trombones), timpani, 2 violins, basso continuo - Level 3
Composed by Michael Haydn (1737-1806). Edited by Charles H. Sherman. This edition: Paperbound. C-Moll (C minor). Sacred music from Salzburg. German title: Requiem in c (Schrattenbach) MH 155. Requiem, Sacred music from Salzburg Mourning, death. Full score. Language: Latin. Composed 1771. MH 155. 120 pages. Duration 35 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.5032100).

Item Number: CA.5032100
ISBN M-007-08098-3. With Language: Latin. Requiem, Sacred music from Salzburg Mourning, death.

In just two weeks Michael Haydn composed the Requiem in C minor in December 1771, on the occasion of the death of his employer, Prince Bishop Sigismund Count Schrattenbach, who was beloved among the people and was a great patron of the arts. The work was written under the impression of personal tragedy: Haydn's only child, Aloisia Josepha, died in January 1771, before completing her first year of life. Parts of the Schrattenbach-Requiem were played together with the completed movements from his second, unfinished Requiem during his own furneral service. During the funeral service in Vienna for Joseph Haydn, parts of his younger brother's C-minor Requiem were also performed. W. A. Mozart often refers to Haydn's setting in his own Requiem.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List