Go to Product Detail Page

The Seven Words

By Cesar Auguste Franck

Look The Seven Words
Detailed Description

The Seven Words composed by Cesar Auguste Franck (1822-1890). Edited by Wolfgang Hochstein. For STBar vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, timpani, 2 violins, viola, cello, contrabass, harp. This edition: Paperbound. French Sacred Music. German title: Die Sieben Worte (kart) (lat/engl). Oratorios, Holy Week, Stations of the cross (Seven Words). Level 4. Full score. Language: Latin/English. 136 pages. Duration 45 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.4009500).

ISBN M-007-06144-9. With Language: Latin/English. Oratorios, Holy Week, Stations of the cross (Seven Words).

Unlike the well-known settings of the "Seven Last Words" by Schutz or Haydn, in his opulently scored composition Franck provides commentary to the words of Jesus with excerpts from the Old and New Testaments as well as from portions of the "Stabat Mater". In his transposition of the Latin text into music Franck reveals a rich palette of compositional parameters: "different-sized ensembles, exciting orchestration, formal variety and sophisticated harmony. Laments, simple passages for the choir in unison, passages with great drama, melodic shapes filled with sweetness convey to the listener a multi-layered impression of a composition stamped by a strongly personal will to expression." Wurttembergische Blatter fur Kirchenmusik 1/1991.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List