Go to Product Detail Page

Serenade in C minor, K. 388 (384a)

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Detailed Description

Clarinet, French Horn, Oboe, Chamber Ensemble
For 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, & 2 Bassoons with Horn parts in E-flat & F. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Henrik Wiese. Chamber Music with Winds. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Ob I=IV+10*Ob II = 7*Clar I+II in Bb = 7 ea*Hr I+II in Eb+F=5 ea *Bas I+II = 8. Softcover. 71 pages. G. Henle #HN797. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480797).

Item Number: HL.51480797

“I've had to turn out a serenade on short order”: these lines from Mozart to his father offer a glimpse into the everyday life of a composer dependent on patronage. Mozart was about to be married when he pulled this wind piece out of his hat. Yet the results are far removed from the detached, courtly style of the serenade: the work, one of the jewels of the wind repertoire, opens full of earnestness and profundity in the gloomy key of C minor. The high opinion Mozart had of this octet is evident in the fact that he later arranged it for string quintet.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List