Go to Product Detail Page

Serenade in E-flat Major, K. 375

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Detailed Description

Bassoon, Clarinet, Oboe, Horn Ensemble
For 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, & 2 Bassoons with Horn parts in E-flat & F. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Henrik Wiese. Chamber Music with Winds. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Parts: Ob I= 11 * Ob II = 7 *Hr I, II in E-flt = 7 ez *Hr I, II in F = 7 ea *Clar I, II in B-flat = 8 ea * Bassoon I, II = 7. Softcover. 100 pages. G. Henle #HN796. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480796).

Item Number: HL.51480796

What might have occasioned Mozart to rework his original Serenade for sextet into a version for octet (with two oboes) only a few months after he had completed it? Was there an “external” cause? Once Joseph II had founded an “imperial wind ensemble” in April 1782, octet music was in great demand. The ensemble with two oboes, two clarinets, two horns and two bassoons had to play on all manner of occasions. As we can gather from one of Mozart's letters, he therefore conjured up a “Night Musique” within a very short period of time. It is very probable that it was this arrangement.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List