Go to Product Detail Page

6 Sonatas for Violin and Viola

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Detailed Description

6 Sonatas for Violin and Viola (String Duo). Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Andreas Friesenhagen. For Viola, Violin, String Duet. String Duos and Trios. Henle Music Folios. Pages: VI and 49. Softcover. 56 pages. G. Henle #HN216. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480216).

The title “Solo per il Violino” which Haydn gave these sonatas in his “Entwurf-Katalog” (the handwritten catalogue he maintained of his own works), already gives us an indication: it is only the violin which is treated as a solo instrument in these six sonatas – the viola has an accompanying role. Haydn might have written these “soli” for himself; but they also might have been for Luigi Tomasini, the “first violinist” at Esterházy's court. Today these duos enjoy great popularity, particularly for teaching purposes. We are now proud to present the definitive Henle edition following the text in the Complete Edition of Haydn's Works - with the addition of specially composed cadenzas.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List