Go to Product Detail Page

18th Century Continuo Playing

By Jesper Boje Christensen

Detailed Description

18th Century Continuo Playing (A Historical Guide to the Basics). Composed by Jesper Boje Christensen. For piano/organ. This edition: 1st printing, 2002 edition. Hardback. Instructional. Book. 155 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA8177).

ISBN 9790006505494. Instructional. 21.6 x 27.6 cm inches.

In recent years, efforts to achieve interpretations that do justice to the criteria of "historical performance practice" have become de rigueur in the world of early music. Not only has this affected the instruments and performance techniques used by soloists, it also impinges on the "musical foundation": the accompaniment. In his figured bass tutor Jesper Boje Christensen, a teacher at the Schola Cantorum in Basle, shows readers how to produce stylistically accurate figured bass realizations, whether written beforehand or improvised in performance. He has taken an unusual approach: the various figured bass manuals of the early eighteenth century Ð by Dandrieu, St. Lambert, Heinichen, Telemann and others Ð are clearly organized and logically structured and contain practical tips for playing from a figured bass. Christensen has put these sources together and added comments and written-out examples of his own. In this way his tutor not only shows how musicians played at the time, but takes a further step of crucial importance: it succinctly summarizes the way figured bass was taught and studied, thereby creating models for players today.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List