Go to Product Detail Page

String Quartets - Volume I

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Detailed Description

String Quartets - Volume I ((Early String Quartets)). Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Gottfried Greiner and Georg Feder. For String Quartet. String Quartets. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Vl I Part = 52 * Vl II Part = 51 * Va Part = 50 * Vc Part = 44. Softcover. 200 pages. G. Henle #HN205. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480205).

The Weinzierl castle in Lower Austria, which still stands today, can be considered to be the birthplace of a chamber music genre, which is firmly established in our present-day repertoire. The young Haydn was invited to spend some time at this place by a wealthy musical friend and often met up with the steward at the castle, the castle priest and the cellist Anton Albrechtsberger to make music. Although his first two works for “2 violins, viola and bass” still have five movements, their musical value establishes the success of the string quartet in its own right.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List