Go to Product Detail Page

Contrapunctus VI BWV 1080 for Brass Quintet

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Detailed Description

Contrapunctus VI BWV 1080 for Brass Quintet composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Arranged by Gordon Cherry. For brass quintet. Baroque. Advanced. Score and parts. Published by Cherry Classics (CY.CC2634).

Bach's "Art of Fugue" represents a pinnacle of artistic genius. Each of the 14 fugues and canons is a musical miracle using a variation of a single subject from the initial fugue 1. Written in the last years of his life, the final fugue is unfinished.

Contrapunctus VI is in four parts and written in "Stylo Francese". This style has little flourishes of scale-like 32nd notes ascending and desending along with dotted rhythms, together called the French style.

The work is suitable for advanced performers and is about 5-6 minutes in length. Parts are for 2 Trumpets in C (B-flat parts are provided), Horn, Trombone and Tuba (or Bass Trombone).

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List