Go to Product Detail Page

36 Fugues for Piano

By Antonin Rejcha

Look 36 Fugues for Piano
Detailed Description

36 Fugues for Piano composed by Antonin Rejcha. Edited by Jan Sykora. For piano. This edition: 1st printing 2012 edition. Paperback. Performance score. Language: Czech/English/German. 162 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA9541).

ISBN 9790260105591. With Language: Czech/English/German. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

The Czech composer Antonin Reicha, also Antonin Rejcha (1770-1836) was famous as both an experimental composer and as a teacher and theorist. His 36 Fugues for Piano testify to this experimentalism; they can be seen as a type of "Well-Tempered Piano of the new ages", basing the traditional Baroque fugue on radically new fundaments.

The first edition of this unusual collection was produced in 1803 in Vienna by Reicha's own publishing company Au Magasin de l'Imprimerie chimique. It included both a dedication poem to Joseph Haydn and a comprehensive foreword in which Reicha identifies the characteristics of his compositional style. The second edition (Vienna 1805) included a short theoretical text Ueber das neue Fugensystem ("On the new fugal system") in the form of a polemic, reacting to his critics, one of whom was Beethoven. Six fugues are based on the themes of other composers (Haydn, Bach, Mozart, Scarlatti, Frescobaldi, Handel). The musical text is a corrected reprint of the edition by Vaclav Jan Sykora from 1973, which itself was based on the referred-to edition from 1805 as well as on the later edition by Tobias Haslinger (Vienna, c. 1828).

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List