Go to Product Detail Page


By Claudio Monteverdi

Look LOrfeo
Detailed Description

LOrfeo (Favola in musica in un prologo e cinque atti). Composed by Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643). Edited by Rinaldo Alessandrini. For soprano voice solo (7), tenor voice solo (4), bass voice solo (3), SSATTB choir, TTBBB choir, orchestra. This edition: Urtext edition. Paperback. Piano reduction. Language: Italian, Text Language: Italian/English/German. 143 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA8793-90).

ISBN 9790006533121. With Language: Italian, Text Language: Italian/English/German. 27 x 19 cm inches.

Monteverdi's opera "L'Orfeo," based on the legend of Thracian singer Orpheus and his love of Eurydice, is a masterpiece of musical declamation and ornamentation. It was first performed during the 1607 carnevale in the "Palazzo Ducale" in Mantua.

When an edition remains true to its sources, this certainly does not mean that it is not also practical to use, as is demonstrated in this Barenreiter edition of Monteverdi's "L'Orfeo." Edited by Rinaldo Alessandrini, the new publication follows the Barenreiter edition of Monteverdi's "Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria."

Two contemporary prints of "L'Orfeo" from the years 1609 and 1615 have been passed down to us. Four copies of each of these prints still survive today in public libraries. The later print includes many corrections to the earlier edition and was accordingly used as the primary source for this Barenreiter edition. However, when solving musical problems the editor frequently follows the more coherent style of the earlier print. The numerous interesting variants, not only between the two editions but also amongst the eight surviving copies, are listed in the critical commentary.

This edition of "L'Orfeo" offers in addition to Monteverdi's somewhat sparse original figures also figures added to the bass line by the editor. The continuo player should, however, feel free to follow his own judgment. The notation has been, when necessary, adapted to suit modern practice, for example with regard to the clefs. The sections that were originally written in "chiavetta" have been transposed a fifth lower. In the appendix these sections also appear in their original notation in facsimile as well as transposed a fourth lower.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List