Go to Product Detail Page

Piano Concerto No. 2

By Dmitri Shostakovich

Look Piano Concerto No. 2
Detailed Description

Piano and Concert Band - Grade 4
Opus 102. Composed by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). Arranged by Marco Pontini. Full score and set of parts. Duration 19:00. Published by Baton Music (BF.BM439-SET).

Item Number: BF.BM439-SET

Dmitri Shostakovich wrote his second piano concerto in 1957 as a birthday gift for his 19-year-old son Maxim who premiered the piece during his graduation at the Moscow Conservatory. The eager, brilliant tone and brisk tempos coupled with repeated notes similar to a bugle's call in the first and third movements are likely the reason for the Disney artists having chosen to use excerpts from this concerto in the Steadfast Tin Soldier segment of the recent movie 'Fantasia 2000'.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List