Go to Product Detail Page

My Life On The Plains

By Lee Hyla

Look My Life On The Plains
Detailed Description

My Life On The Plains composed by Lee Hyla. For Bb Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello, Piano, Percussion (congas, bongos, pedal bass drum, high hat, ride and crash cymbals, marimba, hamm. dulcimer, crotales). Full score. 71 pages. Duration 25 minutes. Published by Carl Fischer (CF.MXE31F).

ISBN 9780825886362.

I wanted to push everybody a bit into areas where they might not ordinarily live. That approach of taking individual members of the group and trying to turn my sense of them into formal ideas that would work as a coherent piece of music was what I started [to do]. It would have turned out to be a very different piece if it had been a different ensemble.'' (Hyla, in an interview with David Weininger, The Boston Globe) My Life on the Plains (a nod to General Custer here) begins with a solo passage on the cello, adding instruments one by one and building from there. Three movements for advanced performers. Dur.: c. 25'.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List