Go to Product Detail Page


By George Frideric Handel

Look Messiah
Detailed Description

SATB vocal soli, S(S)ATB choir, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets, timpani, 2 violins, viola, basso continuo
Composed by George Frideric Handel (1685-1759). Edited by Ton Koopman / Jan Siemons. Arranged by Siegfried Petrenz. This edition: Paperbound. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. Score available separately - see item CA.5505600. Oratorios. Study score. Language: English/German. Composed 1742. HWV 56. 328 pages. Duration 150 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.5505607).

Item Number: CA.5505607
ISBN M-007-09526-0. With Language: English/German. Oratorios.

George Frideric Handel is considered England's first and foremost composer of oratorios. Above all, the Messiah is regarded as the epitome of sacred music and in German-speaking countries it is also one of the most often performed works in the genre. The version of the Messiah which is most often performed today is a combination of various versions. Consequently, the present critical edition by Ton Koopman contains all the surviving alternative versions of the solo movements. These are printed consecutively instead of being banished to an appendix. A concordance makes it possible to assign these movements to those various performances of the work conducted by Handel between the Dublin premiere in 1742 and the London concerts which took place up to 1759. The score will be printed in English and German. In accordance with the wishes voiced by many choral conductors and singers, the vocal score will be available in separate English and German versions.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List