Go to Product Detail Page

Preludio sinfonico

By Giacomo Puccini

Detailed Description

Preludio sinfonico composed by Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924). Edited by Michele Girardi. For Ottavino, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, english horn, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, Ophicleide, percussion, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello and contrabass. This edition: Paperbound. German title: Preludio sinfonico. Full score. Language: all languages. SC 32. 40 pages. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.1620600).

With Language: all languages.

The Preludio sinfonico in A major, Giacomo Puccini's second orchestral work, was written in 1882 during the time the composer was completing his studies at the Milan Conservatory. The piece shows the remarkable musical progress of its author and his considerable talent in the symphonic genre-supported by an impassioned melodic invention-which set him apart from other Italian opera composers of the fin de siecle. The manner in which the only theme of the Preludio is developed and varied, alternating between diatonic elements and chromaticism by means of complex harmonies, is reminiscent of passages from Massenet and of the romanticism of Wagner. Above all, the tone colors at the beginning and at the conclusion show a close connection to the Prelude from Lohengrin. But the manner in which, Tutta forza, the melody reaches its climax already displays the "desperate passion" that ten years later would penetrate the score of Manon Lescaut.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List