Go to Product Detail Page


By Joseph G. Rheinberger

Detailed Description

Nonet composed by Joseph G. Rheinberger. Winds and Strings. For flute, oboe, clarinet, horn in Eb, bassoon, violin, viola, cello and double bass. This edition: Facsimile Editions. Beautiful Romantic composition, offered here at a reasonable price in a Facimile Edition.. Romantic. Parts. Published by Rosewood Publications (RW.RFE-70).

Joseph Gabriel Rheinberger was an eminent German organist, conductor, composer, and pedagogue who lived from 1839 until 1901. He spent most of his life in Munich, studying at the Munich Conservatory and serving as principal conductor of the Munich Choral Society. He also taught organ, piano and composition at the Munich Conservatory. His reputation as an organ teacher was remarkable and students from around the world came to study with him. His students included Humperdinck, Wolf-Ferrari, Thuille, Sandberger, Kroyer, Trunk, Chadwick, and Furtwangler. Few of Rheinberger's compositions are performed today. Yet he composed 20 organ sonatas, 2 symphonies, 2 organ concerti, and a large number of vocal works. His wife Franziska was a poetess and Joseph set much of her poetry to music. His chamber music output included 3 string quartets, a string quintet, a piano quintet, 4 piano trios (one of which was arranged by the composer as this sextet for piano and wind quintet, RFE 42), 2 violin sonatas, a cello sonata and an octet (First Edition published by Rosewood as RP 76) which was later enlarged to this nonet and which has been arranged by John Wilcox as a septet (RP 105).

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List