Go to Product Detail Page

Grosse Mariazeller Messe in C

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Detailed Description

Grosse Mariazeller Messe in C (Missa Cellensis in honorem BVM. Cacilienmesse). Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Leonhard Riedel. For soprano solo voice, alto solo voice, tenor solo voice, bass solo voice, SATB choir, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 clarinos/trumpets, timpani, 2 violins, viola, basso continuo [2 horns in benedictus], organ. C-Dur (C major). Stuttgart Urtext Edition. Score available separately - see item CA.4060400. Latin Masses. Choral score. Language: Latin. Composed 1766. Hob. XXII:5. 32 pages. Duration 68 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.4060405).

ISBN M-007-10604-1. With Language: Latin. Latin Masses.

When Joseph Haydn assumed the position as music director of the Court of Esterhazy in 1766, following the death of his predecessor, Gregor Joseph Werner, he began by composing one of his first and most extensive Missa solemnis. The title "Missa Cellensis" (later also known as the "Cecilian Mass") and the date of an autograph score suggest that this work was probably commissioned by Prince Nicolaus Esterhazy for the 600th anniversary of the pilgrimage church Mariazell located in Styria. With regard to the scoring as well as form, this Mass is still in the tradition of the late baroque "number mass." In contrast to previous "mixed" versions based on various sources, the new edition follows the authentic (original) version using the most reliable sources.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List