Go to Product Detail Page

Magnificat, BWV 243

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Detailed Description

Choir and piano Soprano voice, Alto voice, Tenor voice, and Bass voice (Soli), SATB Choir, Piano
Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Arranged by Karl Straube. This edition: Paperback. Original Works, Transcriptions, Liturgical, Choral. Baroque Period; Sacred/Hymns, German, Christmas/Hannukah. Large Vocal Score. Text Language: Latin. Composed 1723/1731. 52 pages. Duration 35 minutes. Published by Serenissima (SA.Z2488).

Item Number: SA.Z2488
ISBN 9781932419382. With Text Language: Latin. Baroque Period; Sacred/Hymns, German, Christmas/Hannukah. 8.27 x 11.69 inches.

Unabridged digitally enhanced reissue of the vocal score prepared by musicologist Karl Straube and published by C.F. Peters, Leipzig in the late 19th century. Bach composed the initial version in E-flat in 1723 for the Christmas Vespers in Leipzig which contained several Christmas texts. Over the years he removed the Christmas-specific texts to make it suitable for year-round performance, and transposied it to D major, providing better sonority for the trumpets. The work is divided into twelve parts which can be grouped into three movements, each beginning with an aria and completed by the choir.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List