Go to Product Detail Page

Ah, how fleeting, ah, how futile

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Detailed Description

Ah, how fleeting, ah, how futile (Cantata for 24th Sunday after Trinity). Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Till Reininghaus. For SATB vocal soli, SATB choir, flute, 3 oboes, horn, 2 violins, viola, basso continuo. Stuttgart Urtext Edition. German title: Ach wie fluchtig, ach wie nichtig. End of the church year, Mourning, death. Choral score. Language: German/English. Composed 1724. BWV 26. 4 pages. Duration 17 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.3102605).

ISBN M-007-11522-7. With Language: German/English. End of the church year, Mourning, death.

Bach's cantata BWV 26 belongs to the Leipzig cycle of chorale cantatas, 1724/25, and it was first performed on 19 November 1724. The underlying 13-vers hymn by Michael Franck provided Bach and his unidentified librettist with an abundance of metaphors and comparisons which, from verse to verse and movement to movement, illustrate the fleeting and transitory nature of earthly life: an impressive musical-poetic exposition of potent baroque pictures of "vanity."

Score available separately - see item CA.3102600.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List